now happening at c spire
News image

C Spire Conerly Trophy Nominations Announced for 2023


Mississippi’s top college football player will be announced during the C Spire Conerly Trophy Presentation at the Country Club of Jackson on Tuesday, November 28, 2023.

Jackson, Miss – (Nov. 14, 2023) – Two quarterbacks, five running backs, a linebacker, a center, and a punter will represent their respective schools as the nominees for the 28th Annual C Spire Conerly Trophy. The 10 four-year institutions that play football in the state each select one athlete from their squad as their Most Outstanding Player and a panel of statewide news media and NFL scouts vote for the best candidate. The trophy is named for Charlie Conerly a former Ole Miss and NFL great and a Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer.

This year’s nominees are:

  • Alcorn State University – Aaron Allen (quarterback)
  • Belhaven University – Kolbe Blunt – (running back)
  • Delta State University – Patrick Shegog – (quarterback)
  • Jackson State University – Irv Mulligan – (running back)
  • Millsaps College – Ethan Klapatch – (punter)
  • Mississippi College – Marcus Williams – (running back)
  • Mississippi State University – Nathaniel “Bookie” Watson – (linebacker)
  • Mississippi Valley State University – Rodney Luckett – (center – offensive line)
  • University of Mississippi – Quinshon Judkins – (running back)
  • University of Southern Mississippi – Frank Gore, Jr. – (running back)

Half of the state’s schools have winning records. Belhaven, Delta State and Ole Miss are all ranked in their respective divisions and Alcorn State and Jackson State both have winning ledgers in the SWAC, with Alcorn fighting for a playoff spot.

The winner of the 2023 C Spire Conerly Trophy will be announced during a presentation at the Country Club of Jackson on Tuesday, Nov. 28th, hosted by CBS football analyst Charles Davis. Tickets for the event are available online at or by stopping by the Hall of Fame office. Last year’s winner was Quinshon Judkins. The list of previous winners is impressive with NFL stars Jeffrey Simmons, A.J. Brown, Evan Engram, Dak Prescott, Patrick Willis, Eli Manning, and Deuce McAllister among those taking home the award.

About C Spire Business
C Spire Business is a division of C Spire, a privately held telecommunications and technology company. C Spire Business is driven to deliver the best experiences in business IT solutions such as internet, VoIP, cloud and managed services. Read more news at For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at

About the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame
The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame exists to promote, preserve and protect Mississippi’s rich sports heritage for this and future generations. The Museum serves as a destination for sports legends to live forever through interactive displays and exhibits where visitors can play, live and dream. The 501 (c) (3) organization recognizes excellence in athletics and contributions to sports. For more information about the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at For more information, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at